Sunday, August 26, 2018

LLBWS - Hawaii Shuts Out South Korea, 3-0; Captures Little League Baseball® World Series Title

Hawaii's Starting Pitcher Ka’olu Holt Shuts out South Korea for World Championship Win.
Photo by John Green
Ka’olu Holt threw a 79-pitch, two-hit gem for the United States Champions from Honolulu Little League, who became Little League Baseball World Series Champions on the strength of a 3-0 triumph over South Seoul Little League Sunday afternoon.

Hawaii's Starting Pitcher Ka’olu Holt is mobbed by his happy teammates.
Photo by John Green
Before a crowd of nearly 28,000 fans at Howard J. Lamade Stadium, Holt was stellar, fanning eight and walking just one in a complete-game victory.

South Korea kids take the loss real hard as the West tries to console them.
Photo By John Green
The International Region Champions from South Korea countered with Yeong Hyeon Kim and Shoo Ho Choi scattering seven hits and recording eight strikeouts, but Hawaii made the plays that resulted on runs.

Hawaii's Winning Pitcher Ka’olu Holt waits for an interview with ESPN.
Photo by John Green
After sending down South Korea in the top of the first inning, Kim’s first pitch to Hawaii lead-off hitter Mana Lau Kong was lined for home run over the right-center field fence.


Hawaii's Pitcher Ka’olu Holt takes home some dirt from the pitcher's mound.
Photo by John Green
In the third inning, Taylin Oana and Zachary Won both reached safely and would score on a single wild pitch, upping the advantage to 3-0, and setting the margin of victory.

Chandler Murray, Kong, Sean Yamaguchi, Holt, Jace Souza, Hunter Nishina, and John De La Cruz each collected one hit to lead the Honolulu Little Leaguers. On defense, the eventual World Series champions didn’t commit a single error. Bruce Boucher had the most chances in the field with eight.

Courtesy of Little League® Baseball and Softball
The Championship game triumph was the third for the state of Hawaii in four title game appearances. Hawaii has qualified for the Little League Baseball World Series 11 times and previously won the world title in 2005 (Ewa Beach) and 2008 (Waipio).

Watch Post Game Press Conference

“Powered by Narrative Science and GameChanger Media. Copyright 2018. All rights reserved.” Any reuse or republication of this story must include the preceding attribution.