Thursday, July 10, 2014

Seoul Little League from South Korea Wins 2014 Asia-Pacific Region Championship, Advancing to the Little League Baseball® World Series

South Williamsport, PA - As Little League celebrates its 75th Anniversary at the 2014 Little League Baseball® World Series, Seoul, South Korea, will be represented for the third time in that country’s history. In Clark, Philippines, Seoul Little League from South Korea’s capital city captured the banner as Asia-Pacific Region Champions with the 11-0 win over Hong Kong on Sunday, July 6.
Seoul Little League last appeared in the Little League Baseball World Series in 1985, when it won the second of South Korea’s consecutive world championships. With South Korea reaching the 68th World Series, it ends Chinese Taipei’s five-year run as Asia-Pacific Region Champion. In 1984, Seoul’s National Little League won its first World Series title by defeating Altamonte Springs (Fla.) National Little League, 6-2. The U.S. Champions had future Boston Red Sox Captain Jason Varitek as a member of that team. National Little League repeated the feat in 1985, with a 7-1 victory over Mexicali (Calif.) Little League.
“It’s been 20 years for the South Korea to once again make an appearance in the Little League Baseball World Series,” said Patrick W. Wilson, Senior Director of Operations for Little League International and the Director of the Little League International Tournament. “The Asia-Pacific Region is always competitive, and we welcome South Korea back to Williamsport.”
Seoul Little League posted an impressive five shutouts en route to the Region championship.Learn more about the Asia-Pacific Region Tournament.
The Asia-Pacific Region Champions will face the Europe and Africa Region Champions in the opening game of the 2014 Little League Baseball World Series on Thursday, Aug. 14, at 1 p.m. at Volunteer Stadium, airing on ESPN. The Europe & Africa Region Championship Game is scheduled to take place on July 21 in Kutno, Poland. All games at the Little League Baseball World Series will be broadcast on the ESPN family of networks, the Watch ESPN app or ABC.
The 68th Little League Baseball World Series begins on Thursday, Aug. 14 in South Williamsport, Pa., with the Championship Game scheduled for 3 p.m., Sunday, Aug. 24, airing on ABC. The World Series will culminate the year-long celebration of the 75th Anniversary of Little League. For more information on the Series and to follow the action live, visit To learn more about Little League’s Diamond Anniversary, visit